We Will Rock You (Dominion Theatre) 20.09.2012

So here I was. In London for the first time in my life, with a friend who badly wanted to see “Matilda”, leaving me thinking “What to do?” Of course, the only thing I could think of was going to see “We Will Rock You” at the Dominion. It had been over five and a half years since I’d seen the german version of it here, and I badly missed it, the songs and all. I was lucky, because I was at the Box Office at 10am on thursday, and left with a wide grin on my face with a seat in Row C, Seat 29 – just almost right at the front! And the best thing was, I only had to pay 31 pounds, as it was a special Day Seat offer – happy Tanja!
DSCN1883
The entire day, it was really hard for me not to dance all through London because I was so excited for the show in the evening, especially after I’ve seen the Dominion from the outside AND the inside, which is just beautiful.
DSCN1853 DSCN1854 DSCN1857
Then finally, it was 7:30pm and I was sitting in my seat. And what can I say: from the first second, when “Innuendo” started blaring through the speakers, my goosebumps didn’t stop until the end of the show. In my heart, I was singing as loud as the actors on stage, and my heart jumped at every single scene that I saw on stage. My Galileo & Scaramouche that night were both understudies: Scott Monello & Emma Hatton, but that didn’t make me sad at all, of course, mostly because I’d never seen the Main Cast, Noel Sullivan & Lauren Samuels. But as I experienced with “Tarzan” before, I’ve learned that the first Cast you see in a show will leave the biggest impression on you, an impression no one that you see on stage of that show after it will take away (though Oliver Tompsett did it, but that’s coming later). Scott & Emma were just amazing, gorgeous, wonderful! They harmonized so perfectly, and Emma’s voice was something I’d never forget in my life. Never before had someone left such a strong impression with me by “just singing”. And Scott gave a perfect Galileo. Too bad the chance to see both of them are so small, but I really, REALLY hope to one day get the chance to see both of them again – especially at the Stage Door (I didn’t have ANY idea where it was when I was at the Dominion the 1st time, which I regret until today). So Emma, Scott, if you read this: I really wish and hope to meet you at least once! 🙂
The entire Cast blew me away, actually, Kevin Kennedy as Pop is priceless, couldn’t find anyone doing that role better, Rachel John as Meat left me speechless, and Brenda Edwards as Killer Queen – amazing!
DSCN2086

Leave a comment