We Will Rock You – Colosseum Essen 25.06.2013

DSCN4363 DSCN4364
This would be the first of the 5 shows I had seen so far that I would NOT see Christopher Brose as Galileo & Jeannine Michele Wacker as Scaramouche. A few hours before, I got the news that it would be Stuart Sumner as Galileo that night, and it made me very happy; I had heard how amazing he was, and I had talked to him 4 days earlier, and I was really excited to see him on stage. Scara was being played by Jessica Kessler, who I was also excited to see, after I had seen her on stage on TV a while back and thought she was great. And of course, the best message I got that day: Andrea Sánchez Del Solar was going to be Ozzy/Meat one last time! She had posted sth on facebook, and I had answered that I hoped she’ll be rocking her last few shows, and when she asked me if I would be coming that night, because she was playing Ozzy, I was seriously over the moon. I think I haven’t smiled so widely in a very long time 🙂

The first moment Stuart opened his mouth for “I Want To Break Free”  was amazing. I expected alot, due to everything I had heard about him and his voice, and he was breathtaking! He was capable of holding the notes for so many minutes, and he gave me goosebumps more than once…that man has a damn lot of talent! And he reminded me that nobody is perfect, when he forgot his text two times during the show: once, in the scene where Galileo & Scaramouche become friends, just before Scara tells Galileo that she had always wished for a friend, and the second time, just before “Who Wants To Live Forever”, where he stood there, stuttering for a split second. It was nice to see something so humane 🙂 And Jessica…well, I will be honest here: at first, I didn’t like the fact that when she talked, she put in her accent…which is one I absolutely HATE and disgust (it’s one spoken in some parts of my county, and I always refer to that accent as coming from people who are…well, not well-educated). But the more the show went on, I thought that it fits into Scara’s rebellious and cheeky character, and she was really funny in her role. Plus, her voice was great, too. Well, and my Andrea…she definitely KILLED IT! It was the best show I had seen of her, the voice coming out of her mouth was mindblowing! It was almost like…well, she knew I was sitting in the audience, she knew the seat I was sitting in, and I love to think that she was actually doing everything so it wouldn’t just be a special last Ozzy/Meat show for her and the entire audience, but especially for me, as she knew how she is my absolute favourite in that role, how I love her to pieces. And honestly? It’s a really nice thing to think that she gave her best for me, to impress especially me. Probably insane and ridiculous, but who cares? It’s what made and makes me happy, and that woman deserves every support she can get, even if it’s just through some stupid words/texts from me.

As it was the last show of Stuart as Galileo (he would still be on for the rest of the shows as Mick Jagger) and Leon Van Leeuwenberg‘s last show as Bap (I only heard it just before the show, I had no idea he would be leaving already), a few things were different:

1. When at the beginning, Bap talks about the old times, about hairy men being real rockstars and women “throwing their knickers at ’em”, a few girlie underpants were flying onto the stage! Leon was startled for a second, and he smiled widely from one ear to another. And when he was interrogated by Khashoggi, being trapped in the cage of laserlight, he tried to grab the panties, which was hilarious. Also, normally, Bap said “Love & Perestroijka…sexy baby!” (don’t know how to better describe it, sorry) just before he gets dragged away from Khashoggi’s men, but this time, he pushed his hand up into the air and shouted “Love & Perestroijka….you sexy motherfucker!” in a singing voice, just like Prince is doing it in his song – the audience freaked out!

2. Just before the part where the Killer Queen is being defeated, and Bap asks the audience if anybody wants to see his tits, Scara normally said “Shut up, Bap!”, but this time, Jessica & Stuart absolutely killed it: Stuart blurted out “Bap, pack in your breasts…” and Jessica concluded “…Bap, please put some clothes on!” You have to know, there’s a song in Germany that was pretty popular a while back, and it went like “Bettina, pack in your breasts, Bettina, please put some clothes on!” Therefor, you can imagine what was going on in the room at that moment 😉

It was quite an emotional show, and Stuart definitely got his moment for himself during “We Are The Champions”, when he encouraged the entire audience to sing/shout along with him, and these sounds reminded me SO much of his engagement as Cover Tarzan in Hamburg a few years back. And as the last few notes of “Bohemian Rhapsody” sounded, Jessica & Stuart walked up to each other, just when Stuart sang “Nothing really matters…” and Jessica/Scara is supposed to sing “…to me….”, she held out a red rose to him and her voice broke, so that she wasn’t able to sing her part – it was heartbreaking and beautiful together, and a wonderful end to their last show together.

After the show, I went to the Stage Door, though I didn’t really had much time to. I was lucky, as I got to catch Stuart, Andrea & Leon (with whom I wanted a pic so badly since my first time in the show, but never had the guts to walk up and talk to him!). It was amazing to talk to Stuart, just like old friends, and he was so nice and patient, it actually felt like he wanted to stand there and talk to his fans for the entire night. Such a lovely man!
DSCN4365
And Andrea, of course…my little Latina girl…words can’t express how overjoyed I was, everytime I got to see her on or off stage. She always walks up to me with the brightest smile and pulls me into her arms, while hugging me so tight…it actually always feels like a friend, and that is the most beautiful feeling ever. Talking to her, I always just want to freeze time, because she’s such a wonderful person.
DSCN4366
Leon was even nicer than I thought, he pulled me so tight up to him, just like a Daddy *lol* It was a shame that this would be the last time we would be able to see him, but I wish him all the best in the world, that man has talent!
DSCN4370

My resumé: it was a good show, but…well, my least favourite from all the shows I’ve seen. I have to admit, I was really missing Chris and Jeannine, and I realized that no one – no matter how mindblowing and amazing they are, – will ever be able to replace these two for me as Galileo & Scaramouche. NO ONE. I have the highest respect and appreciation for everyone who has such a talent as Stuart & Jessica definitely have, I really do; but hands down, you all have your favourites, and no one can reach them.

Leave a comment